49th International Symposium on

Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science

August 26 — 30, 2024, Bratislava, Slovakia

Sponsors and partners:



The MFCS conference series on Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science is a high-quality venue for original research in all branches of Theoretical Computer Science.

MFCS is among the conferences with the longest history in the field — the first conference in the series was held already in 1972. Traditionally, the conference moved between the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Poland, while since 2013, the conference has traveled around Europe.

In 2024, at its 49th edition, MFCS will be held as a physical event in Bratislava, Slovakia.


The program committee encourages submission of original research papers in all areas of theoretical computer science, including (but not limited to) the following:

  • algebraic and co-algebraic methods in computer science
  • algorithms and data structures
  • automata and formal languages
  • bioinformatics
  • combinatorics on words, trees, and other structures
  • computational complexity (structural and model-related)
  • computational geometry
  • computer-aided verification
  • computer assisted reasoning
  • concurrency theory
  • cryptography and security
  • cyber physical systems, databases and knowledge-based systems
  • formal specifications and program development
  • foundations of computing
  • logics in computer science
  • mobile computing
  • models of computation
  • networks
  • parallel and distributed computing
  • quantum computing
  • semantics and verification of programs
  • theoretical issues in artificial intelligence and machine learning
  • types in computer science

Program Committee

  • Christel Baier (TU Dresden)
  • Petra Berenbrink (Universität Hamburg)
  • Christoph Berkholz (TU Ilmenau)
  • Michael Blondin (Université de Sherbrooke)
  • Mikolaj Bojanczyk (University of Warsaw)
  • Joan Boyar (University of Southern Denmark)
  • Brona Brejova (Comenius University in Bratislava)
  • Jean Cardinal (Université libre de Bruxelles)
  • Pavol Cerny (TU Wien)
  • Krishnendu Chatterjee (Institute of Science and Technology, Austria)
  • Ugo Dal Lago (University of Bologna)
  • Stefan Dobrev (Slovak Academy of Sciences)
  • Robert Elsässer (University of Salzburg)
  • Leah Epstein (University of Haifa)
  • Henning Fernau (Trier University)
  • Fedor Fomin (University of Bergen)
  • Pierre Fraigniaud (IRIF Université Paris Cité)
  • Jean Goubault-Larrecq (CNRS and ENS Paris-Saclay)
  • Kristoffer Arnsfelt Hansen (Aarhus University)
  • Lane Hemaspaandra (University of Rochester)
  • Petr Jancar (Palacky University Olomouc)
  • Christos Kapoutsis (Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar)
  • Stefan Kiefer (University of Oxford)
  • Ralf Klasing (CNRS, LaBRI, University of Bordeaux)
  • Naoki Kobayashi (University of Tokyo)
  • Barbara König (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Martin Koutecký (Charles University, Prague)
  • Rastislav Kralovic (Comenius University in Bratislava, chair)
  • Tony Kucera (Masaryk University Brno, chair)
  • Tobias Momke (University of Augsburg)
  • Madhavan Mukund (Chennai Mathematical Institute)
  • Daniel Paulusma (Durham University)
  • Giovanni Pighizzini (University of Milan)
  • Alexander Rabinovich (Tel Aviv University)
  • Peter Rossmanith (RWTH Aachen)
  • Christian Scheideler (Paderborn University)
  • Sebastian Siebertz (University of Bremen)
  • Martin Skoviera (Comenius University in Bratislava)
  • Bettina Speckmann (TU Eindhoven)
  • Paul Spirakis (University of Liverpool)
  • Daniel Stefankovic (University of Rochester)
  • Till Tantau (University of Lübeck)
  • Takeshi Tsukada (Chiba University
  • Ugo Vaccaro (University of Salerno)
  • Igor Walukiewicz (LaBRI , Université de Bordeaux)
  • Invited Speakers

    Submission Guidelines

    Papers should be submitted electronically through EasyChair.

    Submissions should be formatted using the LIPIcs style with length not exceeding 12 pages (excluding references and an optional appendix). References and an optional appendix can go beyond the 12 pages; the appendix will be consulted at the discretion of the program committee. It is mandatory to use the LIPIcs style for submissions.

    No prior publication or simultaneous submission to other conferences or journals are allowed (except preprint repositories such as arXiv or workshops without formal published proceedings).

    There is no need to anonymize the submissions.

    As in previous years, MFCS 2024 proceedings will be published in LIPIcs (Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics) under an open access license.

    Selected articles will be invited to a special issue of Information and Computation

    Important Dates

    • Submission Deadline: Friday, April 26, 2024 (Anywhere on Earth)
    • Notification: Monday, June 24, 2024
    • Camera-ready Deadline: Friday, June 28, 2024
    • Conference: August 26 — 30, 2024,